23. Cologne Conference –
Internationales Film- und Fernsehfestival 2013

With the ceremonial awards the Cologne Conference ended successful on 4th of October 2013. During the six festival days visitors have seen international film and TV notables, such as Götz George, Isabelle Huppert and Harmony Korine live in Cologne.

Already the 23rd time the international film and television festival took place and builds always a constant element of the media scene in North Rhine-Westphalia. The festival series and the lectures again, have shown outstanding television and independent film culture and highlighted current trends and tendencies of the scene.


Opening with the premiere of TATORT: FRANZISKA with the film team around Tessa Mittelstaedt and Klaus J. Behrendt. Among others Lord Mayor Jürgen Roters and Marc Jan Eumann (Secretary of State for Federal Affairs, Europe and media) spoke some words of welcome.

Premieres and Receptions

The SXSW-Night with presenter Steve Blame who talked to the Head of Film of SXSW, Janet Pierson, via Skype.

The Showcase »Young Documentaries from North Rhine-Westphalia« with the documentaries DER GROSSE DEMOKRATOR, GUERILLA KÖCHE und WER IST THOMAS MÜLLER?. The directors were present as well as the two editors from WDR Jutta Krug and Christiane Hinz.

The final episode of the successful TV seriesBREAKING BAD. The screening was sold out weeks before the festival.

ZDFneo Producer Reception with the presenters Philip Simon and Jan Böhmermann amongst others.

Premiere of SCHIMANSKI: LOVERBOY with the film team around Götz George, Julian Weigend and Chiem van Houweninge.


THE BIG SCIENCE SUMMIT with a following Party to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Quarks & Co. The presenter Ranga Yogeshwar, Eckart von Hirschhausen and Frank Schirrmacher were present amongst others.

Kevin Kelly, Dan Gardner and Kathrin Passig were the speakers of the Lecture COLOGNE CONFERENCE FUTURES.

The International Day with the Lecture »Around The World in One Day«.


This year the Cologne Conference was happy to welcome two delegations from China and Brasil.

Workshop Discussions and Hollywood Reporter Roundtable

Workshop Discussions with the award winners Susanne Ritter, Frauke Finsterwalder and Christian Kracht, Sibel Kekilli, Isabelle Huppert and Harmony Korine. At the following Hollywood Reporter Roundtable, the award winners discussed together in front of a small audience again.

Solemnly Award Ceremonies

This year’s award winners were Susanne Ritter (German Casting Award), Frauke Finsterwalder and Christian Kracht (The Hollywood Reporter Award), Sibel Kekilli (TV Spielfilm Award), Isabelle Huppert (International Actors Award) and Harmony Korine (Film Award Cologne).