Award Ceremony

Award Ceremony

  • Thursday, October 1, 20:00 hrs, Gürzenich
  • (Invitation required)

The award ceremonies, held in the medieval Gürzenich complex in Cologne, will conclude the Cologne Conference. On October 1st, the festival will present the Hollywood Reporter Award, the TV Spielfilm Award, the international actors, the phoenix award and the Film Award Cologne.

Endowed by the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW and the City of Cologne, the Film Award Cologne, worth 25,000 EUR, is presented to Paolo Sorrentino. Continuously defining aesthetic and narrative standards, the italian filmmaker’s work constitute milestones in European film history.

The TV Spielfilm Award recognizes the best program in the Top Ten, Look, and Kino sections of the festival. This year’s award, which carries a prize of 10,000 Euro, goes to Austrian director and writer David Schalko for “Altes Geld” a biting mini series presented in the TopTen section of the Cologne Conference.

The Hollywood Reporter Award for outstanding achievements in the international film and media business in this year goes to Mathieu Amalric. Ever since his international breakthrough, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” the renowned actor and director has been continuously involved in highly ambitious film projects. His latest projects “My Golden Days” and“Wolf Hall”, both of which can be seen at his year’s Cologne Conference.

This year’s recipient of the international actors that annually honours outstanding performances in acting and is endowed with 10.000 Euros, is Nora von Waldstätten. She can be seen on TV and on the silver screen, in exceptional German speaking productions as well as in international ones. The international actors is donated here I am.

The phoenix award is given to the American filmmaker Joshua Oppenheimer. His poignant documentary “The Act of Killing” was nominated for an Academy Award and brought him world-wide renown. This year’s festival program showcases his award-winning follow-up “The Look of Silence”. Phoenix, the event and documentary channel of the German public broadcasters ARD and ZDF, has endowed this award with 10.000 Euros.